Coffee Shop Sparkles

Coffee Comfort Via Pinterest

Coffee Comfort
Via Pinterest

I don’t know about you but I love coffee shop culture. I love to see coffee shops open, people together, alone, reading, on their laptop’s or tablets, greeting friends or family, laughing, talking, hugging, holding hands or even arguing. There is nothing about coffee shop culture that I don’t like. I didn’t always feel this way, there were times I just wanted a cup of coffee and the thought of visiting Starbucks filled me with dread because I didn’t want to order a Mocha Choca Latte, I just wanted a normal cup of coffee. That so changed. My first trip to a Starbucks was a very cold, frosty day, the week before Christmas and I was in New York City, by City Hall. I had a Peppermint Mocha in a Red cup and that was it, I was hooked. I loved it, the atmosphere, the music, the people, the coffee…how wonderful was this place!!

If I have to wait for somebody and I get the opportunity, I’ll wait in a coffee shop. I love to sit there, huge couch, comfy chair or the wooden stool and read a book, listen to their music and soak up the atmosphere. Sometimes I can’t concentrate on the book, I’m watching the stories unfold around me, lovers meeting, colleagues at meetings, students gathering, shoppers gasping for a cuppa. So many lives touching on one another within the coffee shop. Even saying the words ‘I’ll meet you at Starbucks, Costa etc’ just make me all warm and sparkly inside.

In Dublin a couple of years ago, again before Christmas, I visited ‘Hippety’s, a gorgeous vintage style coffee shop. Their music was ‘The Beatles’, there were camper van’s galore, oil cloth tablecovers and it was warm and welcoming. I’m not just a lover of chain coffee shops, I love the independents just as much because they are quirky and different and wonderful. I am currently eagerly awaiting the opening of a new coffee shop in the city centre close to where I work. ‘Yorke’s’ I am watching your progress daily as I walk to and from the office. I can hardly wait to visit, taste the coffee and watch the sparkle of the people coming through your doors.

Irish Coffee Heaven in Temple Bar

Irish Coffee Heaven in Temple Bar

I think coffee shops look exceptionally beautiful and welcoming in the Winter months, the darker evening, the lights are on, the Christmas decorations go up, the music becomes festive and let me not forget that ‘Red Cups’ will be back. We are approaching that time of year right now…get ready to sparkle!!

Do you have a favourite coffee shop moment or place? Please share it with me.

Thank you for reading my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

