A year ago…

20130907-000919.jpg

A year ago…I’d never been to Ibiza. Although I am a lover of Spain and I had visited Menorca and Mallorca, Ibiza hasn’t really appealed to me as a holiday destination. Perhaps I had been put off by the label of ‘Party Island’…I love dance music and I have many a ‘Ibiza’ collection of various dance tunes, chill out tunes and Ibiza Trance but I just didn’t fancy being caught up in a constant siege of whatever ‘party island’ meant. I obviously felt like this because I’m not 21 anymore!!

Whilst deciding where to go on holidays, I like to flick through the brochures and Mom will always give me her thoughts. Having not been abroad for five years and not having any Summer in the UK for at least four of those years, we needed some sun! I kept coming back to the same page in the brochure, Ses Estaques, Santa Eulalia, Ibiza. Mom agreed. Himself agreed. We were going to Ibiza.

I bought new summer clothes and swimsuits, sandals and dresses, even a new suitcase I was so excited to be going back to Spain and discovering Ibiza. From the moment I felt the sun shine on my face as I walked through the plane door to disembark I knew I was in the right place.

The coach dropped other holiday makers off at their hotels enroute to my chosen accommodation and I secretly hoped I wasn’t going to be disappointed. I wasn’t, the hotel was situated in such a perfect location…a walk from Reception straight to the ocean, a cove to the left of me with a separate restaurant and bar and to the right, the view to the marina, to Puig de Missa and up into the pine forest over to Cala Llonga. It was perfect.

20130907-002834.jpg

20130907-002921.jpg

The first song I heard on the radio after arrival was ‘Club Tropicana’ by Wham. I thought I was in heaven. For two days I kept saying ‘I am in heaven’ until himself stated that if I said those words once more I could quite possibly find myself there! I loved Santa Eulalia. I loved the hotel and everything about it. Never have I stayed anywhere where the people who work there have worn permanent smiles and been genuinely happy to speak with you and help you.

To walk on the balcony in the morning, feel the sunshine and gaze on the surroundings felt beautiful to me. Watching the sunset from the balcony in the evenings brought tears to my eyes as I had never seen such beauty, such colours and felt such peace in my life.

It was the most beautiful week, I felt like a free spirit floating in love, peace and harmony the whole time I was there. Ok, I admit, when we got lost on a walk to Cala Llonga, following Blue waymarkers which became Blue plastic bag waymarkers and then Blue marks on sides of cliffs…my peace was a little unbalanced with ‘oh my god I can see the newspaper headlines now’ and comments such as ‘but what was she doing in a pine forest in Ibiza?’…but we survived, found the civilisation that is Cala Llonga and caught the bus back!

I do intend to post about my trip to Ibiza with photo’s but for now I just wanted to share how Ibiza, Santa Eulalia and Ses Estaques in particular had captured my heart.

A year ago tonight, I could hardly sleep with excitement of going on holiday to Ibiza and the early start to the airport. There hasn’t been one day since I returned that I haven’t thought about Ibiza, looked at photo’s of Ibiza or talked about Ibiza. I don’t know if it is that I can’t let go of Ibiza or if it is that Ibiza won’t let go of me.

A year ago I’d never been to Ibiza, a year ago I fell in love in Ibiza and a year later…I still am.

20130907-005140.jpg

6 thoughts on “A year ago…

  1. Pingback: Beyond the clubbing…Ibiza | My ELSE World

  2. kayweaver31

    Thanks for sharing this with me – it is one of those magical places that will capture your heart and soul forever. Did you go to bambuddha grove? If not definitely look it up its a wonderful experience!

    Keep up the ibiza love blogs 🙂

    Reply
    1. aurorasdreams Post author

      I didn’t go to bambuddha grove but my friend and I plan a girlie trip to Ibiza next year so will definitely look it up. I love your blog, it is so uplifting, happy and full of Ibiza soul. So glad to have found you and our shared love of that beautiful island. Looking forward to your blog posts 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

