My Roman Holiday…

I hadn’t planned on a trip to Rome this year although Rome has long being on my list of places I would love to visit. It was a fairly impromptu trip but it was a truly wonderful trip and I can understand how Rome is one of the most loved cities in the world.

There are so many sights to see, adventures to have, Italian culture to soak up and all wrapped in beautiful Summer sunshine and very friendly people only too willing to help, guide not to mention cook amazing meals for you.

After arriving on Monday lunchtime and eating our first true Italian pizza we headed for the ‘Hop on Hop off’ bus so that we could get a feel for where the major sights were. I was amazed at how busy this city is and that almost at every turn of a corner another beautiful monument or church was in front of you. To see some of the buildings that I have only ever seen on TV or in books was breath-taking for me. Within minutes I was awestruck at the beauty and the marvels this city had to offer. We got off and walked a fair amount around the streets, we are always determined to find our own way. Monday evening was spent strolling around the streets of Rome, getting acquainted with the city, the vibe and the heat!

Tuesday was just a totally amazing day. We started with The Forum, The Palatines and then the Colosseum and it was like walking in history. I became totally immersed in stories of Emperor’s, Temples, ancient folklore and tales of yore. It was so real because of history books, films on the TV and the readings from the Bible.
Seeing the Colosseum, knowing the age of these buildings, the new archaeological finds and reading the information within the museum was, for me, beyond description. It is so hard to believe that you are actually standing right in a spot of so much history…

Colosseum, Rome

Colosseum, Rome

Colosseum, Rome

Colosseum, Rome

That evening we made a trip to the Spanish Steps – what a wonderful place to sit, chill out, read, chat and generally watch the world go by…

Trinita dei Monti, Spanish Steps, Rome

Trinita dei Monti, Spanish Steps, Rome

View from Spanish Steps, Rome

View from Spanish Steps, Rome

Wednesday we spent the day at The Vatican. It was the most beautiful day in more way than just the weather. I again was awestruck to see the window where the Pope addresses the people in St Peter’s Square and for me to stand in St Peter’s Square was a dream come true. Visiting St Peter’s Basilica was like a pilgrimage for me and I spent hours listening to the audio guide and strolling around the Basilica and visiting the various chapels.

The Pope's Alter, St Peter's Basilica, Rome

The Pope’s Alter, St Peter’s Basilica, Rome

Peace Chapel, St Peter's Basilica, Rome

Peace Chapel, St Peter’s Basilica, Rome

Vatican Guard

Vatican Guard

Wednesday evening was a visit to the Trevi Fountain which was extremely busy. You walk down and small winding side street and then suddenly you are there at what is for me, the largest and most famous fountain in the world…Frank Sinatra singing the song from the film is still running through my mind and oh yes, I threw my coins in…

Trevi Fountain, Rome

Trevi Fountain, Rome

Trevi Fountain, Rome

Trevi Fountain, Rome

Thursday was spent visiting Piazza Venezia and the beautiful imposing Monument to Vittorio Emanuele 11. What a stunning building housing various museum’s, gardens, the town hall and wonderful views across the Piazza, Capitoline Hill and over to the Roman Forum and the Colosseum. We also visited the beautiful Santa Maria Maggiore Church.

View over Piazza Venezia, Rome

View over Piazza Venezia, Rome

View from rooftop of Victor Emmanuel 11 Monument, Rome

View from rooftop of Victor Emmanuel 11 Monument, Rome

These photo’s are just a snapshot of the beautiful city of Rome, I will load some more onto the aurorasdreams facebook page in due course.

Our 4 night break to Rome was over so quickly, there are so many more places to see, to visit and to return to and return I will…I did throw my coins into the Trevi Fountain after all…make it my wish to come true.

2 thoughts on “My Roman Holiday…

Leave a Reply

