The old songs.

Beautiful Summer evening this evening. I sat in the conservatory with my parents, talking about the day at work. I decided to play some background music from my iPod…it turned into a night of music, singing and a glass of wine or two.

I have quite an eclectic mix of music, from Dep Lepperd to Enrique, Barry Manilow to Josh Groben, Michael Jackson to Kylie…Irish, Spanish, Elvis, songs from way before I was born to childhood memories songs. You name it, I’ve probably got something of that genre.

We started with some Irish songs of long ago, it was so lovely to see my parents remembering the past and singing the songs from then. Talking about dances they had been to, parties that just happened when a few neighbours got together in a kitchen, popular songs of the time and most of all, the people who shared these previous memories with them who are no longer here.

It makes me sad when I listen to the Irish songs now because I think of my family in Ireland who are no longer there. Happy times we shared although I took them for granted then, I didn’t appreciate what I had. What young person does?

It made me happy tonight to see my parents enjoying the music and my mom even sang…that doesn’t happen very often!!! It also made me sad for two reasons. One because I knew they felt sad with their own memories and two because I knew tonight would one day be a precious memory for me.

Love your music, sing your favourite songs but mostly love and appreciate the people in your life and the memories you make together. As Garth Brooke’s sang…

‘Our lives, are better left to chance. I could have missed the pain, but I’d have had to miss the dance’.

Leave a Reply

