The scales dilemma.

You are what you eat

I think it must be at least day fifteen of my eating healthier and keep active project. I dared to get on the scale yesterday morning. I don’t mind admitting, I was scared. What if I had put on what I had lost? How demoralised would I be? It would be a case of the usual ‘oh well, you can start again tomorrow’. ‘But I have already started again…many times this year’, I told myself.

I began to think of the prior week, it has been a beautiful Summer sunshine week which isn’t something you can say very often for the UK. I ate mostly salads, I made my own lunch for work a couple of times, I managed to stay away from all manner of goodies in the office. Off the top of my head I couldn’t think of anything I had eaten that may have increased weight rather than reduced it. I have kept my walking up all week also.

I reasoned with myself…’I’ve undertaken this in order to feel fitter, to have more energy’ to feel healthier and to look after my long-term health’…whether or not I have lost weight doesn’t really come into the equation.

I stepped on the scales anyway, more out of curiosity than a desperate need to know. I was pleasantly surprised, I had lost 1 LB. HOORAH!! However, I have decided I am going to leave the scale alone. This isn’t about weight loss as such. Yes, if I manage to keep up this healthy eating and activity I do expect to lose some weight. I have decided that I am not going to be driven by weekly results on a weighing scales. I shall monitor progress through how I feel, my energy levels, loss of craving for sweet foods and a general feeling of wellbeing.

Of course, should I give in at a time of weakness and jump on those scales…you’ll be the first to know.

Leave a Reply

