The good and the bad.

There are things I feel good about today, there are things I don’t feel quite so upbeat about. Why oh why oh why is it so difficult to stay on the right track.

After a long time waiting we finally get some real Summer sunshine. Yesterday himself & I travelled to the riverside, sat on our chairs and chilled out. We had a lazy day, no real walking unless you consider my stroll to the fish and chip shop as walking. Yes, I did have fish and chips but we did share one portion so I felt fairly guiltless. I also ate an ice cream…hey, it was a hot summer day and where was that banana when you need it?!

This morning I decided to get on the scales to see if my first week of healthier eating and being more active had achieved any results. I am very happy to report a loss of 2 lbs. I am well aware that it is probably that much due to the change in eating habits and I don’t expect that kind of loss weekly…although it would be nice.

Today has been mostly a salad day because it has been even hotter than yesterday. There were strawberries and ice cream, I did have half the portion size of anyone else because as you know, I think denying myself small treats will just make me crave them and I’ll end up sitting with a pot of ice cream…or should I say an empty pot!

So although on day seven I can celebrate an achievement I’m also feeling that I ate far too much today and even if I was on my feet most of the day…and went for a small walk…I’m still feeling that I have undone what I have done in the past seven days…perhaps I should blame that half bottle of Sangria… I had a salad, sangria and crusty bread day…it was as Spanish as I could get on an English Summer Day.

Some days I just need to feed my Spanish soul. My Irish heart is always fairly well topped up.

Day eight beckons…what will week two achieve?

20130708-002750.jpg

One thought on “The good and the bad.

  1. mulkraj360

    Thank you for sharing first of all. I think there’s always a period of adjustment whilst you get used to your new habits, and the more you practice the good stuff, the more it becomes a part of you. Just being ‘good’ 70-80% of the time is a good place to start, and build it up from there. Something about the time it took to build Rome? Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

