Day Two – Shortbread Fever

20130702-233208.jpg

Shortbread. I love shortbread. All butter beautiful shortbread. Shortbread fingers, shortbread triangles, shortbread petticoat…I wonder why petticoat?! Anyway I think you get my drift, shortbread is my downfall. But, and this is a great but…today, I resisted shortbread. The vending machine in the office has been replenished with packets of shortbread and I looked them straight in the eye and walked away. I thought about them all afternoon. Perhaps I could purchase the packet and just eat one finger today? Who was I kidding, all four fingers would be gone in minutes. I managed to resist. I imagined myself having to admit to you guys that by day two I had failed. No, I couldn’t let that happen. Tomorrow however I have to look them in the eye all over again.

On the plus side, I did manage 8,295 steps today which was just as well as I attacked some Spanish Turron when I got home…yes, another downfall of mine. Well, it is only day two!

2 thoughts on “Day Two – Shortbread Fever

  1. mulkraj360

    From personal experience, I know how difficult it can be to resist this damn tempting biscuit, so well done. I have been reading again about the effects of sugar in our diet; the quick boost, the crashing low that follows, and of course the cravings for more, it’s almost like nicotine. I’ve decided to cut it all out for a week or two and see how I get on. It has already made me very conscious of it as I reached for a teaspoon to caramelise some onions this evening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

